Let it fucking snow…

Today, I experienced my first New York City snow. If it hadn’t been so flipping weird (hello, it’s not even November) it might have been almost magical. The look on Laura’s face certainly was. The smile  when we stepped outside the building—priceless. So was the next moment, when she whipped out her calling card and phoned home in Jamaica to tell her mom about her first snow.

For me, the first moments outside held no such magic. First, it was freezing, second it was wet, and third, seriously, it’s OCTOBER. October has to be the tip of the iceberg, right? Since I’m operating on about 10 hours of sleep this week, the snow pelting me in tiny, freezing spurs seemed like the coming of the apocolypse. And since I’ve been carrying Schneerson in my pocket for the past couple of weeks, the apocolypse feels kinda real, or at least plausible.

I shit  a brick. The election’s in a week, there’s less than a month till my birthday–I’m about to hit nearly-mid-20’s and Barack Obama says it’s all in my hands. He said that, to me, in an email you guys.  You can’t just say, sorry Barack, guess I really bitched out on this one. No go. You gotta carpe diem and take that shit by the horns, and donate the $25 bucks or whatever. That’s how it works.

Flash forward to now, and I am curled under my snow-leaopard mink-blanket (the HEIGHT OF FASHION in Oaxaca and Delhi, i’ll have  you know): the snow has long since melted, and as far as i know they are still reading prayers from that fax machine over the rebbe’s grave in Queens. There are 47.5 hours left in October–fuck it, let it fucking snow.

Leave a comment

Filed under Columbia Graduate School of Journalism, Religion

Leave a Reply

