California knows how to party

“Aaaaaaaaaaah”

Wall-e exclaims in wonderment

My mom’s English-for-the-hearing-impaired subtitles

Another belated post, this one in celebration of my recent birthday. Turns out, 2.5 days in California is good for what ails you in New York City. Mainly the cold. California is really good for reminding you that not everywhere is this damn cold.

Thanks to the dozens of homies that showed up at Zeitgeist Saturday night. Never, ever in my life have I felt so comfortable sitting outside at night in San Francisco. It took suffering an East Coast AUTUM to make me realize how hard I love Cali, and how many other locals I want to suffer through before I come back.

As much as I adored the time with my friends and family (i looooooveee you) my weekend jaunt to the Bay also helped remind me why the hell I moved across country in the first place. California may be the Golden State, but New York is the land of opportunity. Check out this story on brain waste in the LA Times. Great stuff, but how much more acute is it here? How much more acute is everything in a city of 8 million (yeah, i know LA has 11) where EVERYONE is striving, and the immigrant population is manifolds more diverse?

Listen, there’s a million reasons to move to LA—the weather, the beach, the sun, the 11 million other people, the beach in January, the landscape, the, eh, you get the picture. But there is only one reason to brave 95 and raining or 28 with dirty snow—simply because it’s New York. People, and only people, make this place a place where other people want to be. In the detritus of the planet, we have incubaed the greatest nation on Earth.

“Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”




Leave a comment

Filed under 3rd World Imagineering

Leave a Reply

